RIP George Steinbrenner

Just heard that George Steinbrenner, New York Yankees owner, died today at age 80. From this blog to his family, my he rest in peace.

I am not a Yankees fan but I did appreciate Steinbrenner’s loyalty to his team, his constant striving to improve the level of play. Sometimes he made it worse instead of better, but we all do that on occasion. Here’s to giving him a fast track to Cooperstown. He was one of the most important and controversial owners in baseball history and deserves his spot on the wall beside some of his best players.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “RIP George Steinbrenner”

  1. Chris Ross Says:

    It is a sad time for the baseball world especially with the all star game being played on the same day, but I am also surprised at the amount of praise that the man who was once known as the most hated man in baseball. He definitely did do a lot for the New York Yankees and I’m sure the city is very grateful for it. I also kind of like/hate the fact that I have a team to hate for in the Yankees because they just buy all their players. Also you think you could take a quick look at my blog cuz I really want to know what you think. http://chrisross91.wordpress.com/2010/07/14/greatest-owner-ever-hardly/

  2. verdun2 Says:

    welcome aboard. Like you, I’m not sure what I think of Steinbrenner, but I do know he deserves to be remembered.
    Looked over you site. Liked the baseball info. Feel free to add me to your blogroll. I’ll add you to mine.
    Best wishes,
    v

Leave a Reply

