Picking the Winners: Rookies

Brad Komminsk

So the unimportant voting is finally over and the nation swings Red. Now we can get on to finding out how the really important voting went. Who won all the MLB awards?

As with the previous post I’m going to project who I think will win one of the awards. This time I’m going with the Rookie of the Year Award. Again, this is who I think the writers will pick, not who I think should win (although sometimes I agree with the pick).

AL-Neftali Feliz. I think the combination of 100 MPH fastball, 40 saves, a division title for a team that hadn’t won anything in a while, (remember all votes are in before the playoffs start) and his age will give Feliz the AL Rookie of the Year Award.

NL-Buster Posey. OK, here I’m going to admit that I may be projecting my own choice. This one could easily be wrong. I think it’s a two-man race with Jason Heyward and I think the writers will ultimately pick a Posey over a Heyward. First, Posey plays a harder position. Second, Heyward had a weak September and some of these voters don’t remember all the way back to last week, let alone to June. Third, the Giants win their division and Atlanta is the wild card. I’m not sure how much difference that makes, but it may be a deciding factor is some voter’s mind.

And finally (and I’ve put this in a different paragraph for a  reason), Heyward was a mild disappointment. Remember the first few weeks of his time in Atlanta? He was touted as the second  coming of Henry Aaron. That happens a lot. Every time the Dodgers come up with a left-hander who’s any good “He’s the next Koufax.” Well, no, he isn’t. When the Yankees get a new catcher who’s worth a damn “He’s the next Berra.” No, he isn’t. In Atlanta the next great thing is “The next Hank Aaron.” Well, no he isn’t. So, at the risk of nagging, just stop it. Quit already. The pressure put on a player to live up to that hype is enormous and it’s also unfair. I remember when Brad Komminsk was the next Hank Aaron. He never even got close. I remember they hung that tag on David Justice. Justice won a Rookie of the Year Award and hit the World Series winning homer in 1995, but there was always an aura of unfulfilled promise about him because he was supposed to be Hank Aaron and he just wasn’t. I’m afraid the same thing is going to happen to Heyward too and that would be a shame and grossly unfair to the man.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Picking the Winners: Rookies”

  1. William Miller Says:

    Pretty much have to agree with everything you said, including your picks for the ROY awards. And yes, way too many players are hyped virtually every year to be the next big thing. I remember when Travis Lee was supposed to be the next Don Mattingly (who himself was supposed to be the next Lou Gehrig.)
    Good stuff, as always, Bill

Leave a Reply

