Having Fun

Amazon's image of the But Didn't We Have Fun? cover

Just finished a book I’d never read before. It’s titled But Didn’t We Have Fun?: An Informal History of Baseball’s Pioneer Era, 1843-1970 by Peter Morris (Chicago, Ivan R. Dee Publisher, 2008). This is the paperback version. I haven’t done a book review in a while, so it’s time.

This is not a book of play-by-play. Nor is it a book about players. It is more about the early evolution of the game. There are chapters on equipment, customs and rituals, civic pride, how the clubs worked and why people joined them. There’s even a bit on how the initial baseballs were made. It is utterly fascinating, but is not about games themselves.

It’s a book I wish I’d read prior to posting all that 1850s and 1860s stuff I did a couple of months ago. I might have changed a few things. I see that he does agree with me on some things (like what the Knickerbocker Rules are) and on others he doesn’t (he downplays the Lip Pike Case, which I did a post on over a year ago). Morris has written a handful of other works, most notably, at least to me, A Game of Inches. So the man is already established as knowledgable about baseball. He writes pretty well and the book has lots of illustrations. Most are on-line, and some you’ve seen here.

The paperback version costs $16.95 and I picked it up at my local Barnes & Noble. It was worth the money.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Having Fun”

  1. Kevin G Says:

    V,
    I read this book a couple of months ago. I really enjoyed it. I also read Catcher by Morris. Some parts were good, but I really struggled to enjoy half the book. No where near as good as this book.

    Kevin

  2. William Miller Says:

    Thanks for the tip. I’ll definitely check it out.
    Bill

Leave a Reply

