The War to End All Wars

Most of you probably don’t realize it, but July 2014 is the 100th anniversary of the Austrian declaration of war on Serbia that ushered in World War I, “The War to End All Wars” (strike one). When the US entered in 1917, it became, in Woodrow Wilson’s words, a war “to make the world safe for democracy” (strike two). And it led to Lenin, and ultimately Stalin and Hitler, coming to power (strike three). Why am I telling you this?

I am involved in a project to commemorate the event. I use “commemorate” rather than “celebrate” because places like Passchendaele and the Isonzo are too grim to celebrate. Anyway, this project is something I’ve enjoyed doing and is now reaching a point where my part in it has to be finished. So I’m taking the next two weeks to go at it with a vengeance. That means I won’t be posting again until around the 1st of May. It simply takes too long to look up stuff I write about here, to check it, and to write it up for me to try doing both at once.

I’ll still be checking in occasionally so any comments will be noted. I’ll still be looking in at the blogroll sites and commenting as appropriate, but I won’t be posting anything new here. So enjoy the next couple of weeks and don’t trash the place too badly.

5 Responses to “The War to End All Wars”

  1. William Miller Says:

    As someone who is fascinated by history, I’d be interested to hear more about your project regarding WWI.
    We’ll leave a light on for you.
    Bill

  2. verdun2 Says:

    The project involves finding and publishing the whereabouts of the papers of the leading figures in WWI. My job is to find out exactly who it is we’re supposed to be looking for; like who commanded the Russian III Corps in July 1915 (Aleksandr Aleksandrovich Zelegov) or who was the Romanian Ambassador to Paris in 1916 (Alexandru E. Lahovari). I’m down to a handful of diplomats (You wouldn’t happen to know who was the Greek Ambassador to France in 1914 would you?). Probably won’t find all of them (like the Greek Ambassador to France in 1914), but the idea is to get as many as I can and turn the list over to the people who are going to try to find their papers.
    It has its moments.

    v

  3. pioneersinsport Says:

    Will be looking forward to your return here. Always liked your posts. The new project you’re working on sounds interesting too.

    Doug

Leave a Reply

