The End of the World

"The Gods of the Copybook Headings with Terror and Slaughter Return."-Rudyard Kipling

Well, I see the end of the world didn’t occur this weekend. Frankly for my blogging purposes I wasn’t too worried about it. Being something of a sinner myself, I figured anyone goofy enough to read me with some regularity wasn’t going to be “raptured” anyway so there’d still be a lot of sinners sitting around reading things like this. I did begin to ask myself what I would do if I knew the world really was ending. Specifically, I wondered where would I go to face the end.

The answer was, unsurprisingly, Cooperstown. My son and his family live reasonably close, so we could get the entire family together for one last good time together. I’ve never gotten there and would really like to see it before I head off to that big diamond in the sky, assuing I’m skyward bound. Also I know a number of other baseball junkies like me would head there too, so we could all get together for one last big game on Doubleday Field. Maybe I can even play. So what if I make an error, it’s not like it’s the end of the world or anything. Bet I might even meet a few of you there.

So let’s make a pact. Next time we’re sure the world is going to end by second comings, asteroids, fire, flood, famine, etc. let’s all meet up at Cooperstown for one last big blast. I’ll even use my credit card to get us in. What the heck, I’m not going to have to pay it off anyway.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “The End of the World”

  1. Bill Miller Says:

    Sounds like a plan. But don’t wait until the end of the world to see Cooperstown. Set up a trip this year. I haven’t been there since ’94, but it is well worth the journey.
    Bill

  2. Kevin G Says:

    V,

    As a card carrying atheist I wasn’t too worried about the end of the world. What worries me is that you have never been to Cooperstown. That is baseball blasphemy my friend.
    I live 2.5 hrs south of baseball heaven, and would be willing to act as your tour guide, when…..and I do mean when, you finally make the pilgrimage.
    Just bring lots of money!!!

    Kevin G.

Leave a Reply

