2013 Awards: Follow Up

The 2013 awards for Major League Baseball are done. Previously on this site I weighed in on them. I told you who I thought the writers would select for Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, the Cy Young Award, and MVP. I also told you who I thought should win. So that gave me eight cracks at getting something right. Here’s a review of what I wrote.

Rookie–I predicted that Jose Fernandez and Wil Myers would win. I also said I’d vote for both. In all four cases I was correct.

Manager–I predicted that Clint Hurdle and John Farrell would win, but that I would vote for Terry Francona. I was right in three of the four cases, missing the writer’s choice of Francona.

Cy Young–I suggested the writers would pick Max Scherzer and Clayton Kershaw and said I’d also pick both. Nailed it.

MVP–I suggested that writers would go for Miguel Cabrera and Andrew McCutchen. My picks were Cabrera and Paul Goldschmidt. I went three for four, getting Goldschmidt wrong.

So I ended up going 14 for 16, missing one personal choice and one writer’s choice. That’s really good for me, a lot better than I normally do. I’m stunned (but obviously not into silence). 🙂



One Response to “2013 Awards: Follow Up”

  1. William Miller Says:

    Good job, V.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: