Our Poor Power to Add or Detract

As many of you know, February in Black History Month in the United States. From the beginning of this blog I’ve used the month to study the history of black baseball. Most of it has, reasonably, concentrated on the Negro Leagues, but I’ve wandered  afield to look at Latin ball a little and to look at players prior to the formation of the Negro Leagues. This month will be no different.

I generally do a couple of posts on players, at least one look at a team, an owner, review either a book or a movie, and try to see what’s available on playoff baseball or all-star baseball. This year will be pretty much the same. I’d love to take a look at the barnstorming teams, but the info is so spotty that it takes more time than I have available to analyse the stuff, not to mention that there’s no coherent narrative about either a team or a year. Maybe next time.

I’ve begun the research necessary to make coherent posts about Black Baseball for this month. I trust it will be informative. I at least have the satisfaction of knowing that I’ve learned something. But I’ve always been a bit upset at doing this. There are a couple of reasons for that. First, I find it a shame that Black Baseball has a long period of separateness that needs to be recalled. It speaks poorly of us that such is the case. Perhaps it speaks well of us that it is no longer the case. Second, I’ve been asked why I do this every year. There is a simple reason. Most of the men involved are now gone, and it is up to others with, to quote Lincoln at Gettysburg, “our poor power to add or detract” to speak for them. Just so you know, that’s why I take February and do this. Hopefully I do more adding than detracting.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Our Poor Power to Add or Detract”

  1. William Miller Says:

    I always enjoy the posts you do for Black History month. Hell, I always enjoy any post you do on any topic.
    -Bill

Leave a Reply

