The 755th Commentary

This marks the 755th time I’ve sat down, typed up something,  and not thrown it away. Normally, I would celebrate 750 comments, but 755 is a baseball number, 750 isn’t. The number 755 commemorates the home run total of Henry Aaron and thus seems to me to be much more appropriate a number to commemorate.

Back when I began typing these in November 2009 I thought I knew a lot about baseball. Turns out that I was wrong. My knowledge was pretty good, but nothing like what it is now. And there is more than one reason for that. First, I’ve done a great deal of research and have been stunned by how much I’ve learned. But as importantly as that is how much I’ve learned from the people who read me and comment. I’m forever finding some nugget that I didn’t know and that leads to more research and more knowledge. Equally important are the other bloggers that I read with frequency. It’s astounding how much info is out there and how much the people I read know. Again that leads to more research and more knowledge on my part. I have to admit that over the period from November 2009 through today I’m certain I’ve gained more wisdom than I’ve ever imparted.

So a thank you to people who read this and comment. A thank you to the people I read. May each of us continue and may each of us push the frontiers of knowledge outward.

 

17 Responses to “The 755th Commentary”

  1. Miller Says:

    Nice post. It’s amazing how much there is always still to learn.

    Of course, the post I’m really looking forward to is #762.

  2. Gary Trujillo Says:

    Congrats…this is one of the best blogs out there.

  3. wkkortas Says:

    I raise my coffee cup (not an unusual event, but still…) in your e-direction as a toast.

  4. steve Says:

    An early epitaph to this baseball season? I’m all in favor. It’s dragging on too long as they all do I guess but then missed when gone. Glad you will be pushing forward and through and upward and onward so we can find out the birthplace of Eli Grba and other nuggets.

    • verdun2 Says:

      Grbra—Chicago, Illinois
      v

      • steve Says:

        I first saw the name Grbra on I think his 1961 baseball card. Is that possible? Well, it stuck with me probably because of the sound. It was hard to pronounce and still is. Looking forward to the next 755 posts.

      • steve Says:

        or wait a second v. You’ve misspelled his last name. You added an r and then so did I.
        It’s Grba and not Grbra, but I prefer your misspelling….it has a grrrrrrrrr and brrrrrrrrrrr and sounds like a bear.

    • wkkortas Says:

      I remember someone saying somewhere that “not only does Eli Grba have the hardest name to pronounce in the league, he also has the worst stuff.” Hell of a good hitting pitcher, though.

  5. Glen Russell Slater Says:

    V, I raise my glass of seltzer in your direction, in other words southwest, a little southwest of even Bensonhurst (man, you live FAR!) and I toast you with a shout of לחיים

    755 is an important number to me. 766 means nothing to me, nor does 762.

    Henry Aaron will always be king, as far as I’m concerned.

    And I will continue to enjoy your blog.

    Please acknowledge when you’ve got 1,418 articles written, too, in honor of Ed Kranepool’s 18-year hit total, every one of them as a New York Met.

    Glen

  6. Kevin Graham Says:

    Happy milestone V, here’s to 755 more

  7. Glen Russell Slater Says:

    Oh, yeah. And an additional request, V! Commemorate number 856, as well when you get to that plateau. That’s the number of flies I swatted one hot, humid, boring day in Honesdale, Pennsylvania in the summer of 1973! (No, I’m not kidding. 856 flies in one day. Seems incredible to me, too.)

    Glen

  8. Glen Russell Slater Says:

    I meant that 756 means nothing to me. I had put 766. My error. In other words, Barry Bonds and his pseudo “record” mean nothing to me.

    Glen

  9. Allan G. Smorra Says:

    Congratulations on your milestone and thank you for for helping me find an appreciation for the sport of baseball this year. Because of your blog and Bill (On Deck) & Steve (Brewers Baseball), I have been inspired to go to some local games and enjoy an evening at the ballpark with my beloved.

    I am looking forward to your next 750.

Leave a Reply

