RIP Dean Chance

Dean Chance

Dean Chance

Just saw that 1960s pitcher Dean Chance died. He became primarily famous for winning the 1964 Cy Young Award back when they only gave out one award, not one per league. It was the one in the 1963-1966 period that Sandy Koufax didn’t win and Chance later said he got used to being jokingly called “Not Koufax.” He later did good work with the Minnesota Twins in a couple of their playoff runs. He ended up 128-115 over an 11 year career.

RIP, Dean.

4 Responses to “RIP Dean Chance”

  1. wkkortas Says:

    I remember he was Bo Belinsky’s running mate for a while when he was with the Angels, although he went for the appetizer while Bo had the whole dinner. RIP, yes.

  2. Bruce Thiesen Says:

    Dean Chance was on one of my very early baseball cards.

  3. glenrussellslater Says:

    I remember reading about what W.K. read about (I actually think he’s read about a lot of this stuff; I get the impression it was before his time— people like Belinsky and Don Hoak.

    As for me, I remember him briefly as a New York Met in either 1970 or 1971. I don’t ever recall him pitching, though. I’ve just read about him being pals with Bo Belinsky.

    Glen

  4. Precious Sanders Says:

    I completely missed this! Thanks for bringing it to my attention.

Leave a Reply

