2016 Hall of Fame Ballot

Just noted that the 2016 Hall of Fame ballot is out. It consists of 32 names, 15 new and 17 holdovers. For a couple of the holdovers it is their last chance to make the Hall via the writers. Here’s the list (holdovers first) in the order they are listed at the Hall of Fame’s website:

Mike Piazza, Jeff Bagwell, Tim Raines, Curt Schilling, Roger Clemens, Barry Bonds, Lee Smith, Edgar Martinez, Alan Trammell (one of the last chance guys), Mike Mussina, Jeff Kent, Fred McGriff, Larry Walker, Gary Scheffield, Mark McGwire (the other last chance guy), Sammy Sosa, Nomar Garciaparra.

New guys: Ken Griffey Jr., Trevor Hoffman, Jim Edmonds, Garret Anderson, Brad Ausmus, Luis Castillo, David Eckstein, Troy Glaus, Mark Grudzielanek, Mike Hampton, Jason Kendal, Mike Lowell, Mike Sweeney, Billy Wagner, Randy Winn.

And in related news, the Hall trustees voted not to expand the number of players a writer could vote for from 10 to 12. So the maximum number of players any writer can list on his ballot is 10.

My thoughts at a later time.

7 Responses to “2016 Hall of Fame Ballot”

  1. glen715 Says:

    Lee Smith, Alan Trammel, Crime Dog (McGriff), Griffey Junior, Raines.

  2. glen715 Says:

    Why do they never consider Lou Whitaker?

    • verdun2 Says:

      Whitaker was one earlier, didn’t receive enough votes to remain in consideration, and was dropped after one year. Got me, Glen.

  3. wkkortas Says:

    Brad Ausmus and Randy Winn, huh?

  4. William Miller Says:

    My guess is that Griffey, Jr. will get in fairly easily, and Piazza will just make it with about 76%. While there are other players on this list I would vote for, I doubt any others will make it in this time round.

  5. Gary Trujillo Says:

    A handful of those guys should make it in,,,,but they wont.

  6. Precious Sanders Says:

    As much as I love Mike Sweeney, I’m honestly kinda stunned to see him on this list.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: