One Man, Two Halls

Cum Posey's Cooperstown plaque

Cum Posey’s Cooperstown plaque

Just saw (my son sent me an email alerting me) that Cumberland “Cum” Posey was elected to the National Basketball Hall of Fame. Hopefully, that name means something to you. Posey was for years the co-owner, manager, and general manager of the Homestead Grays of the Negro Leagues.
In 2006 he was one of several Negro League players and executives elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame. Although a handful of Pro Football Hall of Famers (Greasy Neale, Jim Thorpe, and George Halas) played Major League Baseball, none of them were good enough to make it to Cooperstown for a plaque. As far as I can tell, Posey is the first to be elected to two major American sports Halls of Fame (but see Baseball Idiot comment below).
Congrats to Cum Posey.

Tags:

5 Responses to “One Man, Two Halls”

  1. The Baseball Bloggess Says:

    Do not ask me why I know this (yet I can’t remember important things, like where I put last year’s tax receipts), but Jim Brown is a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame and the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame. However, I’m not going to argue when you say, “I said MAJOR American sports Halls of Fame.” I just enjoyed the opportunity to toss out some amazingly random trivia.

    (Oh, and one day in and still on track for that 50th anniversary World Series rematch.)

  2. The Baseball Idiiot Says:

    Lamar Hunt (August 2, 1932 – December 13, 2006) was an American sportsman and promoter of American football, soccer, basketball, tennis and ice hockey in the United States and an inductee into three sports’ halls of fame.

  3. The Baseball Idiiot Says:

    No problem. I’m a Missouri boy, so got to stick up for those Texans who transplanted.

  4. verdun2 Says:

    And we can also add Cal Hubbard who made the Pro Football Hall of Fame, then was elected to the Baseball Hall of Fame as an umpire.
    v

Leave a Reply

