2018 Rookies of the Year

Ronald Acuna

The Major League Baseball postseason awards are currently being announced. They started with the rookies and the 2018 Rookie of the Year for the National League is Ronald Acuna with Juan Soto finishing second and Walker Buehler finishing third. For the American League, the winner is Shohei Ohtani with Miguel Andujar second and Gleyber Torres third.

Shohei Ohtani

For what it’s worth, I have no particular problem with the choices but I also think this wasn’t just a great year for rookies. Otani was probably the easier choice, after all he’s being compared to Babe Ruth as a hitter/pitcher combination (he probably isn’t). What I find more interesting is that when the nominees were announced, they were listed in the order they finished. If that holds true, I can predict Christian Yelich and Mookie Betts and MVPs and Jacob DeGrom and Corey Kluber as Cy Young winners. I’m thinking about getting down a quick bet.

Anyway, congratulations to both players and here’s hoping both have long and distinguished careers.

Tags: , ,

%d bloggers like this: