2018 Cy Young Award

Blake Snell

MLB just announced the league winners for the Cy Young Award. For the National League it’s Jacob DeGrom; Blake Snell for the American League.

In some ways you have a split among the voters. The AL people went with the guy who led the league in both wins (21) and ERA (1.89), two very traditional stats. He also led the AL in pitching WAR. DeGrom, on the other hand had a league leading ERA (1.70), but a terrible win-loss record (10-9) and was second (to Nova) in pitching WAR.

It seems that the writers are willing to embrace the newer stats to some degree, but still look seriously at the traditional stats. Whichever you prefer (and I kinda like the mix of both new and traditional), congrats to both pitchers on their victory.

BTW Snell was not listed first in the initial announcement of nominees. There went that theory.

Tags: , ,

3 Responses to “2018 Cy Young Award”

  1. William Miller Says:

    Yeah, DeGrom! Let’s Go Mets!

  2. glenrussellslater Says:

    Who the heck is Blake Snell????? I never heard of him, and he never heard of me.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: